ASHRAE Assists Students with Tuition through Scholarships

Post date: Aug 15, 2011 3:5:28 PM

ATLANTA—To help support future generations of engineers, ASHRAE is awarding over $74,000 in scholarship money for the 2011-2012 school year.

“ASHRAE’s scholarship program has a strong history of supporting students,” William Murphy, Ph.D., P.E., chair of the Scholarship Trustees, said. “Many students who are seeking outside help to attend college are already working in the industry part time and are planning their careers around an area of HVAC&R. We hope that this early exposure to the industry will lead to employment opportunities in the field during and after college. These are future ASHRAE members and industry leaders, and ASHRAE is pleased to help them along their way.”

The 17 recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship assistance are as follows:

• Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years, Andrew James, California State Polytechnic University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by the Trane Co. in memory of its founder, an innovative engineer, inventor and business executive.

• Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year, Kimberly Luebcke, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, mechanical engineering; and Daniel Nish, University of Akron, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder, who installed the world’s first scientifically designed air-conditioning system.

• Frank M. Coda: $5,000 for one year, Sze Wong, City University of Hong Kong, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.

The following awards include one-year $3,000 scholarships:

• Duane Hanson Scholarship: Zachary Koehnke, California State Polytechnic University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.

• Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Isaac Lima, University of Central Florida, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.

• Henry Adams Scholarship: Matthew Reeves, University of South Florida, pre-engineering. The scholarship was established by Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder, a Charter Member and sixth president of ASHRAE’S predecessor society, ASHVE, in 1899.

• ASHRAE Region IV/Benny Bootle Scholarship: Steven Wrightenberry, North Carolina State University, aerospace engineering. The scholarship was established collaboratively by Region IV and Benny Bootle, a former Region IV director and regional chair on the ASHRAE Board of Directors.

• ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: Ashley Neese, University of Oklahoma, aerospace engineering. This scholarship was established by Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma and Mexico and parts of Louisiana and Texas.

• ASHRAE Memorial Scholarship: Valerie Smith, Kettering University, mechanical engineering.

• ASHRAE General Scholarships: Tao Yu, University of Cincinnati, mechanical engineering; and Hannah Jones, Cedarville University, mechanical engineering.

• High School Senior Scholarships: Boyd King, Arkansas Technical University, engineering; and Justin Altemus, University of Delaware, engineering. The scholarships were established in 2010 for high school seniors entering their freshman year of college in engineering or engineering technology program.

• Engineering Technology Scholarships: Addie Farr, Dunwoody College of Technology, heating, air-conditioning systems design; Anthony Stamm, John A. Logan College, HVAC&R and green technology; and Rhone Jadis, DeVry University, electronics engineering technology.

ASHRAE has created two new undergraduate scholarships to begin awarding for the 2012-13 Society year. They are the:

• Boggarm S. Setty Scholarship, which will award a one-year $3,000 scholarship to an undergraduate engineering student attending an institution within ASHRAE Region III, which covers Delaware, Maryland, southern New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, D.C.

An ASHRAE Fellow and a member of the Society since 1972, Setty has served on more than 50 technical committees for the society.

• David C.J. Peters Scholarship, which will award a one-year $5,0000 scholarship to a third-year student in a four-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program or a fourth-year student in a five-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program at Pennsylvania State University, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University or California State University at San Louis Obispo. The scholarship was created by Southland Industries to honor Peters, a tireless advocate of recruiting quality.

Over the course of 20 years ASHRAE has awarded a combined $1 million to over 200 deserving undergraduate and graduate students. It is ASHRAE’s belief that aiding these future leaders of the heating, ventilation, air-conditioning and refrigeration industry will in turn benefit society as they lead the way in sustainable HVAC&R technology.

For more information on ASHRAE scholarships, visit Applications are now being accepted for the 2012-13 undergraduate, regional and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1, 2011.

ASHRAE, founded in 1894, is an international organization of some 50,000 persons. ASHRAE fulfills its mission of advancing heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world through research, standards writing, publishing and continuing education.